News and Notes - 04/14/2016

Compher to Represent Team USA

While things didn't end well for JT Compher and the Michigan Wolverines in the recently concluded NCAA tourmanent, the forward's playing season will continue. Compher, along with now former Michigan team mates Kyle Connor and Tyler Motte were named to the US roster for the upcoming World Championship earlier this week.

It will likely be the last time the trio, the "CCM Line", will suit up on the same team, as both Connor and Motte have recently decided to forgo the remainder of their college eligibility to begin their professional careers. For Compher, the Avs will likely attempt to lock him up to an entry-level contract at the conclusion of the international tournament.

The 2016 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship is set to begin on May 6th in Moscow and St. Petersburg, Russia. The Avalanche will also be represented by Matt Duchene and Calvin Pickard for Team Canada.

Compher, along with Denver defenseman Will Butcher, were named to the All-American West Second Team during the Frozen Four festivities last weekend in Tampa, FL. Butcher and Compher were also honored by by being named to their All-USCHO Second and Third teams respectively.

Meloche Making an Impression

A nice piece from the The Hockey Writers on the development of Avs 2015 second rounder Nicolas Meloche.

Rantanen, Vatrano Share AHL Outstanding Rookie Award

The AHL announced on Thursday that San Antonio Rampage forward Mikko Rantanen and Providence Bruins forward Frank Vatrano were voted as co-winners for the Dudley Garrett Memorial Award, which is awarded to the season's most outstanding rookie. Rantanen for his part, has led all rookies in scoring in the AHL with 60 points in 51 games.

Rantanen and the Rampage will conclude their season on Friday, in San Antonio, against Manitoba. Upon conlcusion of the season, it's expected that Rantanen will join Team Finland for the World Championship in May.

Recent Transactions

Alex Belzile (RW) - Reassigned to Fort Wayne (ECHL) - 04/14
Andrew Agozzino (LW) - Reassigned to San Antonio (AHL) - 04/09
Garrett Thompson (LW) - Released from PTO (San Antonio) - 04/09
Troy Bourke (LW) - Reassigned to Fort Wayne - 04/09
Jackson Houck (RW) - Signed to ATO (San Antonio) - 04/05
Trevor Cheek (LW) - Reassigned to Fort Wayne (ECHL) - 04/05
Will Weber (D) - Reassigned to Fort Wayne (ECHL) - 04/05
Sergei Boikov (D) - Signed to ATO (San Antonio) - 04/04
Cody Corbett (D) - Reassigned to Fort Wayne (ECHL) - 03/28