Avalanche Place Six on Waivers

According to

The NHL and NHLPA agreed earlier in the week to implement a special window that would allow players on two-way, non entry-level contracts to be sent to the AHL without being subjected to re-entry waivers.

Teams have until midnight Saturday to assign players to their minor-league affiliates. They will then have up to three days before the season begins to recall the player without having to put him on re-entry waivers.

As a result, the Colorado Avalanche have placed the following players on waivers:

Patrick Bordeleau
Bryan Lerg
Thomas Pock
Sean Sullivan
Bill Thomas
David van der Gulik

These six players will be assigned to the Lake Erie Monsters. Several others may also be sent to Cleveland due to the pending lockout. More to come...