Monsters Roster Set for Start of 2012-13 Season

The Lake Erie Monsters announced on Monday their opening night roster. Here are the players listed by position:


David van der Gulik*

Jamie MacQueen

Geoff Walker*

Bryan Lerg*

Dean Strong

Paul Carey*

Bill Thomas*

Luke Walker*

Patrick Bordeleau*

Andrew Agozzino

Ben Wilson

Mike Connolly*

Matt Tassone

Joey Hishon*

Mark Olver*

Brad Malone*

Michael Sgarbossa*

Mitchell Heard*


Joel Chouinard*

Karl Stollery

Thomas Pock*

Cameron Gaunce*

Sean Sullivan*

Tyson Barrie*

Stefan Elliott*


Sami Aittokallio*

Calvin Pickard*

*Players under contract with Colorado Avalanche

While this is a talented bunch, goaltending will certainly be the biggest question for the Monsters entering the season. Aittokallio and Pickard are talented, but green. Kieran Millan and Kent Patterson will start the season in Denver with the CHL affiliate.

Joey Hishon made the roster, but did not participate in any of the practices, nor play in either preseason game against Grand Rapids. His status is a cloud of mystery.

Forward Gabriel Beaupre attended training camp and while he didn't make the opening night roster for the Monsters, he apparently opened up enough eyes to earn an AHL contract. Rather than returning to Val-d'Or (QMJHL), he will start the season with the Denver Cutthroats (CHL) -- Source